This letter was sent by Representatives Anna Eshoo, Robert Simmons, and Carolyn Maloney to their fellow Congressmen, urging them to become original cosponsors of the Act to Save America's Forests. The bill has now been introduced with a total of 121 original cosponosors, more original cosponsors than ever before.

Back to House Reintroduction Article

Congress of the United States
Washington, DC 20515

July 17, 2002



Dear Colleague:

We're writing to urge you to join us as an original cosponsor of The Act to Save America's Forests.

There's overwhelming scientific evidence that we're destroying America's natural legacy through overly aggressive logging practices on federal forestlands. Clearcutting, roadbuilding, and excessive logging are causing alarming amounts of environmental damage, especially in ancient forests, roadless areas, and other fragile forests. Many species, plant and animal, are being pushed toward extinction, and less than 5 percent of our nation's biologically rich virgin forests still remains.

It's evident that federal forest policy must move in a new direction. The Act to Save America's Forests gets at the problem by banning clearcutting on all federal forestlands. It also ends logging in the last virgin forests, roadless areas, and other core areas of the federal forest system. At the same time, the bill allows limited and ecologically sustainable logging outside core forest areas - lands that have already been logged.

This legislation makes economic sense, since the maintenance associated with logging on federal forestlands drains $330 million from the federal budget annually.

It also makes scientific sense. Indeed, the Union of Concerned Scientists and 600 of America's leading scientists in ecological sciences and related fields have strongly endorsed the Act.

The Act to Save America's Forests is a sensible bill that ensures that future generations of Americans will be able to inherit and enjoy our nation's irreplaceable natural forest treasures.

If you'd like to become an original co-sponsor or have any questions, please contact Steven Keenan with Rep. Eshoo at 5-8104 (a list of current co-sponsors is attached.)


Anna G. Eshoo
Member of Congress

Robert Simmons
Member of Congress

Carolyn Maloney
Member of Congress

Back to House Reintroduction Article